Skip to content

I will not be broken

December 17, 2010

By Lori Hanson

Inspired by yet again another morning workout. These words struck me as yet another set of lyrics to live by. Even though these appear to be directed at a person, expand the meaning and apply them to life.

Helping people find their way back to life from eating disorders, and others find peace and release from being stressed out these are words we should all keep close to heart. There is never, ever any reason to give up. We are all here for a purpose and until you connect with that purpose…

I Will Not Be Broken

That was then this is now
Found my way back here somehow
I knew you’d have to let me go
I told you once I told you so

Take me down
You can hold me but you
Can’t hold what’s within
Pull me round
Push me to the limit
Maybe I may bend
But I know where I’m not going
I will not be broken
I will not be broken
I will not be…

Someone other than who I am
I will fight to make my stand
Cause what is livin’ if I can’t live free
What is freedom if I can’t be me

Take me down
You can hold me but you
Can’t hold what’s within
Pull me round
Push me to the limit
Maybe I may bend
But I know where I’m not going
I will not be broken
I will not be broken

I won’t let you near it
I will let my spirit fly
Fly
High
Oh take me down

Take me down
You can hold me but you
Can’t hold what’s within
Pull me round
Push me to the limit
Maybe I may bend
But we both know I’m not going

I will not be broken
I will not be broken
I will not be broken
I will not be… no no baby
ooh…

Bonnie Raitt-I Will Not Be Broken
(Gordon Kennedy/Wayne Kirkpatrick/Tommy Sims)

P.S.  My blog has been a little lonely lately. With moving out-of-state and being in a transitional living space for a few months it has definitely affected my ability to write. But the next phase of this transition is now within my sights and the inspiration and creativity in returning. So if you haven’t already subscribe to our blog and you’ll be notified when there is a new post.

©2010

No comments yet

Add Your Comment

